Filling up the Calendar

A quick look at my calendar for February and it’s pretty clear to me that I’ve really exceeded whatever success I had in January. 

yellow highlighters are the best. ever.

Cool.

I found some workouts from some website somewhere (can I generalize any more?) and incorporated them into my week so that eventually I’m doing three core-type workouts in a week. This might be too much for me, but I’d like to gauge my progress somehow and this seems like a good way to do it.

There is a warm-up before doing each workout, which consists mostly of stretches and some walking lunges.

Workout #1 (I did this one on Saturday):

DEADLIFT:  Time priority: 10 minutes; do AMRAP (as many rounds or repetitions as possible). works back, abs, butt, thighs, hamstrings, calves.

BURPEE:  Time priority: 10 minutes; do AMRAP. works shoulders, arms, back, abs, butt, thighs.

BUTTERFLY SIT-UP:  Time priority: 10 minutes; do AMRAP. works abs.

Shit, this workout really kicked my butt. Does that mean I’m incredibly out of shape?

Workout #2 (This one was done yesterday): 

SQUAT:  Task priority: do 3 rounds of 30 reps. works butt, thighs.

WALL DRILL:  Task priority: do 3 rounds of 1 minute each.

Gotta say, this one was easier, and yet, more difficult. Those squats nearly had me in tears, but I was glad my heartrate was kept at a level place instead of frantically trying to lower it halfway through the workout (i.e. Saturday). Still, I wanted to throw up once it was over.

Workout #3 (I did this one on Monday):

PUSH-UP:  Time priority: 7 minutes; do AMRAP. works shoulders, triceps, chest, abs.

HOLLOW BODY ROCK:  Time priority: 7 minutes; do AMRAP. works abs.

This one was alright, although pushups aren’t my favorite and by the time I got to the body rocks, my arms and shoulders were d.o.n.e. I guess that’s the point.

So obviously I haven’t done much running, but I’m getting there. Perhaps it would be smart of me to begin by strengthening my body and core before testing out the running again. We’ll see how things go, but for now I’m going to stick with what I have on my calendar.

Leave a Reply

