Will it be enough?

Welp, I am registered for another 5k on May 28th. I don’t know about you, but to me that’s a big deal. Since in both March and April I ran five times. Woohoo. Well, it doesn’t matter – i’ll walk the whole damn thing if I have to. I have a t-shirt to earn, dangit!

I went for a run this morning, since I was awake at 5:30a.m. It went alright, but it was windy and cold and I didn’t realize how cold until I got in the nice hot friggin’ shower afterwards and scrubbed my body with a loofah sponge. That was fun. But the moral of the story is that the run was alright and I figure i’m pretty much around the same time for a 5k that i’ve always been at – just around 40 minutes or so. So whateva’.

I’ve taken to wearing my compression socks to bed. Other than waking up in the middle of the night with beads of sweat coming off every single part of me, it works wonders. I have only rarely had shin pain (knock on wood). I’m also using a foam roller. It’s difficult enough to do planks on hard surfaces, but to try attempting planks while rolling on a little piece of hard-ass foam… well, it’s almost impossible. Serious. And when I roll over my right hipholyshitthathurtslikeamotha… obviously there is a problem there. Must stretch hips more often. But the foam rolling helps a lot, so I will continue to do it until I scream from the pain. I exaggerate sometimes.

My in-between days are filled with lots of walking. During the week, I walk to and from work which totals close to an hour of walking (maybe 3 miles?). On the weekends I try to get in enough exercise to count as a cross-training day, whether i’m walking Dog or doing yard or house work. Well… last Saturday was a write-off, but that was only because of the weather. It made me depressed and forced me to the couch for the entire day. I watched old episodes of Perfect Couples all day long. Strange show, but kind of funny in an off-beat sort of way.

I’m hoping for two more runs this week, but man that’s almost like pulling a needle out of a haystack.

Leave a Reply

