Week One; Day One

That’s right. Starting over. Who knew it would kick my butt all over again?

I purchased an old treadmill from a co-worker about two months ago. I’d used it about… oh, about two times since then. I discovered that if I tried to run on the narrow belt, it would shift and wobble and well, it was basically very scary. Yesterday I wanted to run this first run, but when I got outside I realized it wasn’t going to happen out there. It would have been like puddle jumping, and I ain’t wearing rubber boots to run in, and yeah – i’m not a fan of getting muddy either. Princess.

My second option was to run on one of the treadmills at the gym. I icksnayed this as well, since I had just parked my car in the garage for the night and WHY on earth would I waste the power required to open the garage door twice more? That would be two more garage door openings that i’d have to pay for at the end of the month. Silly princess.

I really was just looking for a way out.

Option number three stared me in the face unfortunately, and I didn’t have a good enough reason to dismiss it. Old Treadmill was standing in the middle of the room looking out the window, waiting for me. It was god-awful trying to straddle the thing (and not in a good way, believe me) in such a way to ensure I didn’t teeter off if I suddenly zoned out. After Week One, Day One, I stepped off the treadmill dripping wet with sweat and jumped straight into the shower. Yuck.

What hurt the most? My arms, from holding myself upright for the entire run. Not fun. I’ll definitely not be doing that for any runs with segments longer than two minutes. No sir.

Stretched twice. Did some crunches this morning. Got a leg cramp.

Leave a Reply

