5:30am Wake-Up Call

blurgh. tired.

i want to take a nap

I don’t know how I managed to wake myself up at 5:30 this morning to go to the gym for a workout session. Ok, wait, I know how I managed it. I went to bed last night at 8pm. That’s pretty crazy, isn’t it? I figured if I didn’t get a full night’s rest, there was no way the gym was going to happen so I decided to make sure I wouldn’t have a problem waking up.

Last night after dinner, I put out a bottle of water and my runners near the entrance to the back door; then I put my workout clothes on the side table near my bed; then I put out deodorant and a hairband on the counter in the bathroom. Lastly, I trudged up the stairs with a book and snuggled under the covers, trying to ignore Dog’s look of total and complete surprise that I was going to bed already.

This morning’s workout was rough. I’m going to blame it on the fact that it was morning, and I do not do well with mornings. Ever. Hardly ever. I stretched a little bit and then grabbed the treadmill. Can you believe there are other people who were working out along with me??? Nuts.

warm-up; 5 minutes at 5mph; 1 minute rest at 3.5mph

4 minutes at 5.3-5.5mph; 1 minute rest at 3.5mph

3 minutes at 5.5-6.5mph; 1 minute rest at 3.5mph

2 minutes at 6.5-7mph; 1 minute rest at 3.5mph

1 minute at 7-7.5mph; 1 minute rest at 3.5mph

1 minute at 7-7.5mph; cooldown

ab routine – 10 minutes

stretching – 10 minutes

I was breathing hard about 2 minutes into running. Damn mornings. Ok, ok, maybe it was the bag of sour cream ‘n onion chips from the night before that did it. By the time I went home and got ready for work, the only giveaway that i’d been working out was the rosy glow eminating from my cheeks.

I was wide awake all morning. Now, not so much. I see an early bedtime in my future.

g'night.

Leave a Reply

