Week 9; Days 1 & 2

So, as I look back at my jogging stats I realized that I didn’t run week 8 day 3.  I don’t know what happened, but it’s ok as i’ve moved onto week 9 already and I don’t plan on looking back.

So week 9 day 1 was kind of difficult.  I did it at the gym and I had to stop for breaks a couple of times.  It wasn’t that my legs or shins were hurting, this time it was all about the lungs.  They hurt after doing the 5k Santa Shuffle seeing as we hadn’t tried running outside since sometime in November.  So even though my legs may have gotten me through it, the rest of me just wasn’t into it.  But I completed 30 minutes of running, so i’m pretty gassed about that.

Week 9 day 2 was done outside.  We actually ran 3 miles (or a 5k) so I ended up running just a few more minutes than I needed to but that’s ok.  It was so cold outside that little ice particles were forming on my pants and I could see steam blowing out from my legs.  As soon as I got back home I stripped and my legs from the top of the thighs to my itty bitty toes were bright red.  A warm shower and I was back to normal, though I sure stiffened up throughout the day.

So there we have it.  One more 30 minute run and i’ve graduated the couch 2 5k program.  I’m not sure how I feel about it.  Proud of myself I guess.  But also ready for the next goal – which is to run a whole 5k without stopping.  Which I think i’ll be able to do within the next three to four weeks if all goes well.

I just can’t believe i’ve made it this far without quitting.  My running buddy is the best ever – she just keeps going and going and I can’t help but think that if she can do it, so can I.

Leave a Reply

