Week 7; Day 3

I’m going to call week 7 complete.  Even though yesterday as I was doing my last 25 minute run, I paused the treadmill three times because my ankles weren’t properly lifting one foot in front of the other foot.  But I still ran 25 minutes, so whatever.  Focus on the bigger picture here!

I sure felt horrible for having missed two days of workouts on the weekend and totally gorging myself on potato chips and bacon and egg sandwiches.  I’m almost surprised that the run went as well as all that, considering.

So, there isn’t much to say about this run.  It pooped me out, completely.  I was in bed by 9:00pm, and I overslept this morning until 7:45am.  That’s almost 11 hours of sleep.  Pretty crazy.

I stopped the first time once i’d finished the first mile running.  Quick stretch and water break, then was back on the treadmill eating up the miles.  HA.  Second time I stopped was at 1.25 miles.  Holy, was I ever done.  DONE.  I didn’t know what to do with myself, whether I should laugh or cry or stop or go.  I didn’t even check my time, I just got off and stood there, staring at the treadmill, for at least a minute.

Somehow I found the motivation to start it back up, but not for long.  At 1.5 miles, I stopped it again.  RB was having just as much trouble as I was.  It was hot in there, I was uncomfortable, and by this point my face was every color of red you could imagine.  Some guy was doing an easy 5 minute run beside me, yakking and gabbing away to his girlfriend the entire time.  I was jealous and bitter.  And that’s what made me jump back on and try one last time to finish out the 25 minutes.  And I did.

I’ve never been so happy to finish doing anything.

Leave a Reply

