Week 5; Day 1

I had to do this on the treadmill at the gym because it freakin SNOWED here like a… well, anyways, it snowed really lots.

I just have to point out that the treadmill run was really difficult.  I know people are always saying that it’s harder to run outside than it is to run on a treadmill, but yesterday that wasn’t the case for me.  I had severe shin splints during and after the workout.  Now, I don’t think I ran any faster than I usually do (stayed at a 12:00 mile pace), so I think it must have something to do with the actual art of running on a treadmill.  Maybe I just don’t have the right form or something.  Oh Lord! I just don’t have the right stuff.

Anyways, I still did it.  Persevered and all that.  Which means that tonight i’ll be trying week 5, day 2 (8 minutes of running with 3 minutes of walking in between).  Based on yesterday’s workout, I am thinking that the first run won’t be so bad, but i’ll have a tough time getting through the second one.

And I need to stop looking at my reflection in the window when i’m working out at the gym.  Horrible.  It makes me want to stop, go home and take a shower, or just plain old hide under the covers.

There’s so much less to talk about when you run on a treadmill.  There’s no “running buddy did this or said that”, no strange tracks or animals to see, no spectacular scenery… it’s totally blah.  Case in point:  I need to move somewhere warmer so that I can do all my running outside.  It just adds another PRO to moving.  I’m just sayin’.

2 thoughts on “Week 5; Day 1

  1. I found your blog through a link from my dashboard today….and I want to say that you’re right. Running on a treadmill is no joke. I think folks think road-running is more difficult due to terrain (read: hills). At least that’s my excuse. But I had also never run on a treadmill before I started the C25K program. It took me several weeks to get used to balancing on it – unless you’re facing straight ahead things get all wonky (I make the mistake of turning to look out the window behind me one day).

    Anywhoo – it is nice to see others around the same place I am with this program. Cheers to you! If we keep this up, someday we will _love_ looking at our reflection while were at the gym (that’s my dream anyway)!

    • It’s good to know i’m not the only one having treadmill issues! Thanks for your comment – I do hope to one day appreciate the “workout” reflection in the window!

Leave a Reply

