7 Hour Goal

I’ve been having some problems with insomnia lately.  Well, I don’t know that it’s actually insomnia.  Sometimes it takes me hours to fall asleep.  Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night (between 2:30 and 3am) and can’t get back to sleep.  Sometimes when I wake up it’s because i’ve an upset stomach, sometimes there is no reason that I can find.  It’s sort of aggravating, and it absolutely FORCES me to eat chocolate every afternoon in order to stay awake.  FORCES me, I tell you.

So anyways, I have a 7 hour goal for each night.  This is how much rest I FOR SURE need in order to feel rested during the day.  No half-assed, disturbed sleep either.  It’s gotta be deep, REM-style sleep.  Need my beauty rest.

Last week was horrible.  I was averaging 4 to5 hours of sleep each night.  When Friday finally rolled around, I was so tired, dudes.  SO tired.  I slept in on Saturday morning until 9:30am, which I know I should not do but couldn’t find the determination to resist.  So far since then i’ve had two good nights with the aforementioned 7 hours of sleep, and one bad one.  It’s amazing how different I feel during the day, how much more energy I have.  Sleep deprivation is a huge motivation-buster.

Soon (maybe starting next week) I am going to try a few different things before going to sleep each night, like having a warm bath, or reading for 10 minutes.  I am hoping that once this becomes a routine, my body and mind will be able to relate these activities to bedtime and begin to unwind all on its’ own.  I am on a mission, people.

Wow! busy week.  Ball, ball meeting, ball, bbq, ball, birthday supper.  Didja get all that?!  My God, i’ll probably be sleeping in again on Saturday.  Best laid plans, and all that.

Leave a Reply

